Nordic numerical linear algebra meeting 2022

The nordic numerical linear algebra workshop 2022 will be held in Espoo (Finland) on 11-12 April 2022, on the main campus of Aalto University.

Participation to the meeting is free of charge.


The workshop is devoted to all aspects of applied and numerical linear algebra, spanning theory, analysis, computation and methods to specific research areas in applications as well as mathematical software. The topics include but are not limited to: linear systems, nonlinear systems, iterative methods, direct methods, eigenvalue problems, matrix functions, structured matrices, least squares problems, tensor methods, matrix equations, graph theory and high performance computing. Specific application areas include but are not restricted to: physical sciences, systems & control, data science, machine learning, biology and statistics.

Invited speakers

  • Yuji Nakatsukasa, University of Oxford, Homepage
  • Valeria Simoncini, University of Bologna, Homepage
  • Nick Vannieuwenhoven, KU Leuven, Homepage


Registration to the conference is now closed.


Participants are encouraged to find and book hotels themselves. There are a hotel and an apart-hotel on campus. The campus is connected by metro to Helsinki City center that has plenty of accommodation options for different budgets. The trip takes approximately 20 minutes.

Schedule & Venue

Espoo is the second most populous municipality in Finland, home among other things of Nuuksio National Park, and adjacent to Helsinki which is Finland’s capital city and a popular touristic destination. Aalto University’s main campus is a thriving scientific community, home not only to the University but also to numerous companies, with high-tech start-ups being particularly well represented; it is located in Otaniemi, close to the border between the municipalities of Espoo and Helsinki, and it has in itself some touristic interest as several buildings on campus were designed by the famous Finnish architect Alvar Aalto.

The current covid-related entry rules for Finland can be found here

The detailed program will be published on this website after registration closes.

Organizing committee

Vanni Noferini, Antti Hannukainen, Rolf Stenberg. You may contact any of us by e-mail :


List of currently registered participants :

  1. Antti Autio, Aalto University (Finland)
  2. Giovanni Barbarino, Aalto University (Finland)
  3. Fernando De Terán, Universidad Carlos III (Spain)
  4. Andrii Dmytryshyn, Örebrö University (Sweden)
  5. Asma Farooq, University of Trieste (Italy)
  6. Luka Grubišić, University of Zagreb (Croatia)
  7. Harri Hakula, Aalto University (Finland)
  8. Antti Hannukainen, Aalto University (Finland)
  9. Elias Jarlebring, KTH (Sweden)
  10. Peter Maxwell, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (Norway)
  11. Yuji Nakatsukasa, University of Oxford (United Kingdom)
  12. Olavi Nevanlinna, Aalto University (Finland)
  13. Vanni Noferini, Aalto University (Finland)
  14. Lauri Nyman, Aalto University (Finland)
  15. María del Carmen Quintana-Ponce, Aalto University (Finland)
  16. Valeria Simoncini, University of Bologna (Italy)
  17. Rolf Stenberg, Aalto University (Finland)
  18. Paul Van Dooren, UC Louvain (Belgium)
  19. Nick Vannieuwenhoven, KU Leuven (Belgium)
  20. Ryan Wood, Aalto University (Finland)
  21. Ralf Zimmermann, Southern Denmark University (Denmark)


The programme is tentative. If you see any issue with your currently allocated time, please contact the organisers. Changes will no longer be possible after April 1st.

MONDAY 11.4.2022

9:00-9:05 opening matters
9:05-09:55 Valeria Simoncini (remote plenary)
9:55-10:20 Luka Grubišić (remote talk)
10:20-10:45 Ralf Zimmermann
10:45-11:10 coffee break
11:10-11:35 Giovanni Barbarino
11:35-12:00 Antti Autio
12:00-12:25 Fernando De Teran
12:25-14:00 lunch

14:00-14:05 opening matters
14:05-14:55 Yuji Nakatsukasa (plenary)
14:55-15:20 Harri Hakula
15:20-15:45 Peter Maxwell
15:45-16:10 coffee break
16:10-16:35 Ryan Wood
16:35-17:00 Asma Farooq
17:00-17:25 Elias Jarlebring
17:25-20:00 rest
20:00- dinner

TUESDAY 12.2022

9:00-9:05 opening matters
9:05-09:55 Nick Vannieuwenhoven (plenary)
9:55-10:20 Olavi Nevanlinna
10:20-10:45 Andrii Dmytryshyn
10:45-11:10 coffee break
11:10-11:35 Maria C. Quintana
11:35-12:00 Paul Van Dooren
12:00-12:25 Vanni Noferini
12:25- lunch


The meeting is sponsored by the Magnus Ehrnrooth foundation.